Safe Driving in Social Media Part 3 – Keep Moving

Author:  Elsa Abruzzo

Welcome to part 3 of my Safe Driving in Social Media Blog.  I promise to finish this series soon so we can move on to other equally fun topics burning down the house of GPP.  In fact, I may change the topic next week so we can take a mini mental break from social media and teenage drivers.  For now, let’s just keep moving –turn-up the music, roll down the windows and let the cool breeze in.

Nice huh?  Oh, and please no texting while you drive – it is definitely not safe and likely not very GPP compliant.  S-c-r-e-e-c-h!  We just hit some traffic and a road block.  Sorry… you knew it was too good to be true.

When I last left you, we had discussed covering the rules, expectations and consequences with your teenage driver regarding the car and your company regarding social media for promotional use.  I was also going to give you some juicy examples this week, and I didn’t have to try very far to find one.   Merely just covering the rules last weekend didn’t help much with my teenager.  He took the minivan to DJ the homecoming dance at his old high school (he is a freshman in college this year) last Saturday and was supposed to return the sound equipment and the van back to the house before going to his dorm.  Well his gig went great, and he returned the equipment late that evening.  However, he kept the van overnight and didn’t return it until the next evening –more than 24 hours later.   He didn’t think much of it.  Of course since he slept until noon on Sunday, there was no answering my texts or calls (can you spell furious?).    I obviously covered the rules with my son (let’s call him D for short), but maybe I didn’t cover the expectations and consequences too well.   D is very resourceful and, like most folks, he rather beg forgiveness than ask permission.  Yes, he is grounded now, and I’m withholding funds, but what good is this when the damage is already done? Dolling out punishment after the fact does no one real good.

See, you have to be willing to back up the rules with real consequences – otherwise they are just empty threats.  You have to communicate this up front before the damage is done.   If you don’t have the expectations and consequences well outlined in your SOPs, well conveyed through training and associated with well understood enforcement penalties, then you might as well be “talking to the wall” and later FDA/DOJ when they come knocking on your door.    I didn’t get my teenager to sign a contract that night either – didn’t follow my own advice.  Maybe this would have reminded him of the consequences before he broke the rules.   Well, at least the van came back intact.  Savor the small victories.

By the way, did you get a chance to digest and implement some of pearls of wisdom from our last two blogs:  Part 1 and Part 2?

If so, I would love to hear back from you.  Leave me a comment on this site, Tweet me or send me some other social media reply your choice (LinkedIn, Facebook, etc.).

Elsa

To keep up with the best in Good Promotional Practices, subscribe to our GPP RSS feed, our Facebook page, our Twitter stream or our LinkedIn group.

Leave a Reply

